“Best Chocolate Chip Cookies”

IMG_2278

Chocolate chip cookies and milk go together like peanut butter and jelly, like ham and cheese, like Thelma and Louise, like jeans and a t-shirt, like………well, you get the idea.  I’m sure many people claim their chocloate chip cookie recipe is the best, but in my family this recipe reigns supreme.  Everyone would ask me for my recipe, and for awhile I lied about it, yes, even to my family.  I know that sounds horrible, but I always hoped that I would be able to start a bakery, and didn’t want everybody and their brother knowing my recipe.  As time went on people started catching on, their cookies wouldn’t turn out like mine, they accused me of leaving out the secret ingredient.  The guilt was too much, and one by one, I started revealing my secret, I probably will never own a bakery anyway (tear).  The funny thing is the base of this recipe is the one on the Nestle Chocolate Chip bag (not exactly a secret), but with a couple of added ingredients, this recipe takes the cake.  So here it is, my prized possession.  Just a warning, you may be asked to bring these to every potluck, bbq, and family event from here on out.  You will have to monitor for cookie hoarders, you may ask, “what is a cookie hoarder?”  A cookie hoarder is somebody who takes more than their share of cookies, and puts them in their pocket or under their shirt, ensuring they get their fill of the deliciousness.

IMG_2259

Ingredients:

1 stick of margarine

1 stick of butter

3/4 cups sugar

3/4 cups light brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon water

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

(2) 3.4oz box Jell-O vanilla instant pudding

2 and 1/4 cups all purpose flour

11.5oz Chocolate Chunks (I use Nestle)

 Preheat Oven to 375 degrees F.  First soften butter and margarine (I do this in the microwave for about 12-15 seconds, remember every microwave is different).  Do this very carefully, do not soften where the butter and margarine are melting or your dough will be runny.  You want to be able to easily make a indentation with your finger.

IMG_2261

Cream butter in mixing bowl.  Add sugar and brown sugar and mix.  Then add eggs and mix.

IMG_2262 IMG_2263 IMG_2264

Add vanilla extract and water and mix well.  Next add salt and baking soda and mix.  Now add the secret ingredient, the 2 boxes of vanilla pudding and mix well, you will notice a nice golden color.

IMG_2268

Now add flour, adding 1 cup at a time.  Mix well scraping the sides.  If you notice its a little crumbly on the bottom after mixing well, you can add a little water (be careful not to add too much, I usually do 1 tsp at a time if needed).

IMG_2269

Next add chocolate chunks and stir in with a wooden spoon.

IMG_2270

Next grease a cookie sheet.  Using a spoon (I like using a spoon over a cookie scoop, but thats just personal preference) place a dollop of dough on the cookie sheet leaving adequate space in between, on an average sized cookie sheet I do 3 rows of 3.  Don’t mind my heavily used cookie sheets.

IMG_2271 IMG_2272

Place cookies in 375 degree F oven for 8 to 10 minutes (all ovens are different).  I rarely set the timer.  I check on them periodically and when the peaks and edges begin to turn golden brown remove cookies from oven.

IMG_2273 IMG_2274

Using a metal spatula immediately remove cookies from the cookie sheet and transfer to a cooling rack.  Pour a glass of milk and enjoy!

IMG_2282

Click here for printable recipe

6 thoughts on ““Best Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Aunt Mabel ( your Grandma Mabel Sauter) gave us her chocolate cake recipe, but ours never turned out as delicious as hers, I think she may have kept a little secret to herself 🙂
    She would be very proud of you and all your talents!!!

    Like

    • Thank you Donna! Maybe she left something out of the recipe, I wish I could have met her, she sounded like a great lady, my dad always talks about great memories at grandma sauters house.

      Like

  2. Aha! It’s the Jello that make these cookies so good! I could never perfect chocolate chip cookies and always tried different recipes to make them taste like yours! I remember these from back in the day!! So good! 🙂 Could you send me or post the recipe for your Mother’s fudge!? She gave it to me a few years back but I’ve seem to misplaced it! I could drink this stuff!! Lol!

    Like

    • Thanks Kelly, I will send you the recipe for the hot fudge. You are talking about the one you put on top of ice cream. I can drink that too, I want to post that recipe but I don’t know if my mom will let me share that one lol, but I will send it to you:)

      Like

  3. Can’t wait to try the famous Katie’s chocolate chip cookies!! Love all your recipes and the way you visually show each stage!! Thank you, Katie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

